Isakson, Tester Introduce Bill to Increase Benefits for Veterans

Joined by committee members in introducing bipartisan bill to boost veterans’ disability compensation, accommodate for cost-of-living adjustment

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., and Jon Tester, D-Mont., chairman and ranking member of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, today introduced the Veterans’ Compensation Cost-of-Living Adjustment Act of 2018, bipartisan legislation to increase veterans’ disability benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs.

“Our men and women in uniform have sacrificed greatly, and it is our duty to provide veterans and their families with the benefits they so rightly deserve,” said Isakson. “As chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, I’m proud to introduce this bill to increase veterans’ benefits in keeping with rising costs of living.”

“This increase is an important token of our nation’s gratitude for veterans and their families,” said Tester. “Veterans’ benefits must reflect today’s economic realities and this bipartisan legislation will allow families to keep up with the rising costs of housing, utilities and food.”

The bill, which was co-sponsored by every member of the Senate VA committee, would increase the rates of VA disability compensation, dependency compensation for surviving children and spouses, as well as the clothing allowance for veterans based on rising costs of living.

This cost-of-living adjustment, which would be equal to the amount of the adjustment given to Social Security recipients, is determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Consumer Price Index on a yearly basis. The cost-of-living adjustment for veterans would go into effect on Dec. 1, 2018.

In addition to Isakson and Tester, the original co-sponsors of the Veterans’ Compensation Cost-of-Living Adjustment Act of 2018 are U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn., John Boozman, R-Ark., Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, Bill Cassidy, R-La., Dean Heller, R-Nev., Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii, Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., Patty Murray, D-Wash., Mike Rounds, R-S.D., Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, and Thom Tillis, R-N.C.