Senate appropriators named to Zika conference

Morning Consult

by Mary ellen McIntyre

Ten Senate Republicans and nine Senate Democrats will negotiate a final Zika funding package with House lawmakers starting this week.

The Senate voted Wednesday to go to conference and named their conferees.

For Republicans, Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Sens. Susan Collins, Mark Kirk, Lisa Murkowski, John Hoeven, John Boozman, Shelley Moore Capito, Thad Cochran, Roy Blunt and Lindsey Graham will be on the committee.

For Democrats, Minority Leader Harry Reid and Sens. Jon Tester, Patty Murray, Tom Udall, Brian Schatz, Tammy Baldwin, Chris Murphy, Barbara Mikulski and Patrick Leahy will be on the committee.

The Senate approved $1.1 billion to respond to the virus, while the House approved roughly $622 million with offsets. The House named its conferees last month.