Baucus, Tester announce $500,000 for Montana fire departments

Homeland Security grants will go to Butte, Columbus, East Helena, Florence, and Lewistown

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Five Montana communities are getting some much-needed help to make their communities safer, U.S. Senators Max Baucus and Jon Tester announced today.

The money comes from the Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG) Program.  The AFG Program regularly awards grants to fire departments and emergency medical service organizations across the country to help those agencies purchase equipment, vehicles, protective gear and training programs.

The following Montana fire departments are receiving grants to help with operations and safety:

  • Race Track Volunteer Fire Department in Butte will receive $47,500
  • Columbus Rural Fire District will receive $40,698
  • Florence Fire District will receive $106,408
  • Lewistown Fire Department will receive $73,150

The following Montana fire department is receiving a grant to help with vehicle acquisition:

  • East Helena Volunteer Fire Department will receive $237,500

“Our fire departments help keep us safe,” Baucus said. “This is much-deserved federal funding for these fire departments, it will allow them to get the job done, protecting homes and businesses and get home safely to their families.”

“Firefighters are on the front line of every public safety emergency,” Tester said. “This money will make sure the folks who are working to keep us safe have the resources they need to do their jobs.”

The Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Grants and Training has administered the AFG Program with help from the U.S. Fire Administration since 2001.  Congress has authorized funding for the program through 2010.